Encounters of North and South

The Orixá tradition, in particular its African roots and their approach of the consequent connection with nature, their dedication to the living, to natural cycles, to the connection with flowing borders between human and more-than human world, are all values that we often painfully miss in today’s society.
Sanzala is our contribution to rediscovering and translating these ancient and profound experiences into today's world. In the form of lectures, small conferences and audio, video and blog contributions, we want to make them accessible and enable a contribution to the challenges that each individual and we as a human community face today.

Sanzala is a Bantu word. It means dwelling. It is also a reminder, a bearer of history, that still effective today and connects us with the complex cultural heritage of Africa, especially the traditions and ways of the Orixás.
Sanzala is a kind of traveling educational institution that invites intellectual learning and discourse in forstered places and special places in soulful nature.
It focuses on the forgotten, suppressed and threatened, but also on the powerful, magical and courageous. On world view, politics, wisdom, science and music. Thinking, listening and being awakened in forums, seminars and travel.

We are people from different countries with different biographies. In common we share the respect for diversity and the determination to create spaces for them. Inside as well as outside. Sanzala is a living happening. We invite you to participate and exchange and are looking forward to your suggestions and contacts. willkommen@sanzala.ch

Begegnungen von Nord und Süd

Die Orixátradition, insbesondere ihre afrikanischen Wurzeln und ihre Haltung der konsequenten Verbindung mit der Natur, ihre Hingabe ans Lebendige, an natürliche Zyklen, ans Verbundene mit fliessenden Grenzen zwischen menschlicher und mehr-als menschlicher Welt, all das sind Werte, die wir in der heutigen Gesellschaft oft schmerzlich vermissen.
Sanzala ist unser Beitrag, diese alten und tiefen Erfahrungen wieder zu entdecken und zu übersetzen in die heutige Lebenswelt. In Form von Vorträgen, kleinen Tagungsformaten und Audio-, Video- und Blogbeiträgen wollen wir sie zugänglich machen und Einfliessen lassen in die Herausforderungen, die jede*r Einzelne und wir als menschliche Gemeinschaft heute haben.

Sanzala ist ein Bantuwort. Es bedeutet Behausung. Es ist auch ein Erinnerungswort, ein Träger von Geschichte, die bis heute wirkt und uns mit dem vielschichtigen Kulturerbe Afrikas, besonders den Traditionen und Wegen der Orixás verbindet.
Sanzala ist eine Art reisendes Bildungshaus, das an gehüteten Orten und besonderen Plätzen einer beseelten Natur zu intellektuellem Lernen und Diskurs einlädt.
Es richtet seinen Fokus auf Vergessenes, Verdrängtes und Bedrohtes, aber auch auf Kraftvolles, Zauberhaftes und Mutiges. Auf Weltenschau, Politik, Weisheit, Wissenschaft und Musisches. In Foren, Seminaren und Reisen miteinander denken, hinhorchen und wach sein.

Wir sind Menschen aus verschiedenen Ländern mit unterschiedlichen Biografien. Gemeinsam ist uns der Respekt vor der Vielfalt und die Entschiedenheit für sie Räume zu schaffen. Im Innern wie im Aussen. Sanzala ist ein lebendiges Geschehen. Wir laden ein zu Teilnahme und Austausch und freuen uns über Anregungen und Kontakte. willkommen@sanzala.ch